7th Bilateral Japan-Netherlands Joint Committee on Science and Technology, The Hague 3 July, 2019 (9:00-12:00)

Venue: Ministry of Economic Affairs and Climate Policy, The Hague

Delegation NL side

- Ministry of Economic Affairs and Climate Policy (EZK)
 - (Chair) Mr. Michiel Sweers, Deputy Director General for Enterprise & Innovation and Director Innovation & Knowledge
 - > Mr. Jaap Broersen, Program Leader International, Directorate Innovation & Knowledge
 - Mr. Eric van Kooij, NL Works
- Ministry of Education, Culture and Science (OCW)
 - Mr. Oscar Delnooz, Deputy Director Research and Science Policy
- Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO)
 - > Prof. Wim van den Doel, Member of the Executive Board
 - > Mr. Sebastiaan den Bak, Head of International Policy, Executive Board Office
- Netherlands Enterprise Agency (RVO)
 - > Mr. Jan-Reint Smit, Team Manager, International Research and Innovation Cooperation (IRIS)
 - > Mr. Juri Roerink, Coördinator Innovation Attaché Network
- Royal Netherlands Embassy in Tokyo
 - Mr. Rob Stroeks, Senior Advisor Innovation, Innovation Attaché Network
- University of Twente
 - Prof.dr.ir. Wilfred G. van der Wiel, Chair NanoElectronics Group, Director BRAINS Center for Brain-Inspired Nano Systems
- Delft University of Technology
 - Ryoichi Ishihara, Ph.D, Associate Professor, QuTech, Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Mathematics and Computer Science (EEMCS) Department of Quantum and Computer Engineering (Q&CE) Quantum Integration Technology Section (QIT)
 - Ms. Freeke Heijman, Director Strategic Development at Qutech, Special Advisor to Minister of Economic Affairs
- TNO/HTCE/Solliance
 - > Dr. Ronn Andriessen, Director Solliance (HTCE-AIST Relation)
 - > Mr. Toon Norp, Senior Business Consultant (satellite 5G)

Delegation JP side

- Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA)
 - > H.E. Mr. Takeshi Nakane, Ambassador for Science and Technology
 - > Ms. Izumi Mochizuki, Assistant Director, International Science Cooperation Division
- Cabinet Office (CAO)
 - Mr. Junichi Hirata, Deputy Director Bureau of Science, Technology and Innovation, Cabinet Office, Gov. of Japan (presentor STI policy)
- Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT)
 - Ms. Mutsuko Yasuda, Director for International Science and Technology Cooperation, International Science and Technology Affairs Division, Science and Technology Policy Bureau
 - Ms. Satoko Ide, Specialist, International Science and Technology Affairs Division
 - Ms. Maya Hirose, Deputy Director, Office for Quantum Science and Technology, Research and Development Infrastructure Division, Science and Technology Policy Bureau
- Japan Science & Technology Agency (JST)
 - Dr. Masae Sugawara, Director, JST Paris Office
- Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS)
 - Mr. Ryo Tabohashi, Head, International Research Cooperation Division II, International Program Department
 - Ms. Yuko Fukuda, Section Chief, International Research Cooperation Division II, International Program Department
- National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)
 - Dr. Kohta Asano, Department of Energy and Environment, Research Institute of Energy Frontier, Hydrogen Industrial Use and Storage Group

- Dr. Yoshihiro Kamimura, Planning Officer/Senior Researcher, Global Collaboration Office, Collaboration Promotion and International Affairs Division, Research and Innovation Promotion Headquarters
- National Institute of Information and Communications Technology (NICT)
 - Dr. Amane Miura, Senior Researcher, Space Communications Laboratory, Wireless Networks Research Center
- Embassy of Japan in the Netherlands

-

Mr. Masahiro Yamaga, Second Secretary

Agenda 7th Bilateral Japan-Netherlands Joint Committee on Science and Technology

Item	Content	NL/JP
9:00	Opening remarks	NL
0.00	Remarks by Deputy Director-General Sweers	
	Remarks by Ambassador Nakane	
	Adoption of Agenda	
	1. Trends and Development: Overview of Science, Technology and Innovation Policies	NL
9:05	Innovation Policy in NL	NL
	Mr. Michiel Sweers, Ministry of economic Affairs and Climate Policy (EZK)	
9:15	Science Policy in NL	NL
	Mr. Oscar Delnooz, Ministry of Education, Culture and Science (OCW)	
9:25	Science, Technology and Innovation Policy in Japan	JP
	Mr. Junichi Hirata Cabinet Office (CAO)	
9:35	Overview of MEXT's STI Policy and Japan- Netherlands STI Cooperation	JP
	Ms. Mutsuko Yasuda, Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT)	
	2. Activities and Programmes of Funding Agencies / Institutions	JP
9:45	Overview of JST and its international Cooperation Programs	JP
	Dr. Masae Sugawara, Director, Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST), Paris Office	
9:55	Overview of JSPS and its international Cooperation Programs	JP
	Mr. Ryo Tabohashi, Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS)	
10:05 10:15	Overview of RVO and its International Innovation Programs	NL
	Mr. Jan-Reint Smit, Netherlands Enterprise Agency (RVO)	
	Overview of NWO and its International Science Programs	NL
10:25	Prof. Wim van den Doel, Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO)	
	Break 3. Cooperation in Thematic Areas	NL
	3.1 Nanotechnology	
	Bilateral collaboration in the field of nanotechnology	NL
10.00	Prof. Wilfred van der Wiel, University of Twente	
	<u>3.2 Quantum Technology</u>	
10:45	Bilateral collaboration in the field of quantum technology	NL
	Ms. Freeke Heijmans and Ass. Prof. Ryoichi Ishihara	
11:00	Policy for Quantum Technology Promotion in Japan	JP
	Ms. Maya Hirose , Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT)	01
	3.3 Hydrogen and energy	
	Bilateral collaboration in field of energy transition and hydrogen	NL
		INL
	Mr. Rob Stroeks, Netherlands Embassy Tokyo	10
11:20	Research Cooperation between AIST-TU Delft in Hydrogen Energy Field	JP
	Dr. Kohta Asano, AIST	
	3.4 Knowledge Institute Collaboration	
11:30	Overview of collaboration with Japan	NL
	Dr. Ronn Andriessen, Director Solliance	
11:40	Overview of HTCE-AIST Partnership Activity	JP
	Dr. Yoshihiro Kamimura, AIST	
	3.5 Satellite 5G	
11:50 12:00	Satellite 5G integration	NL
	Mr. Toon Norp, TNO	
	Activity on satellite-5G in Japan	JP
12.00	Dr. Amane Miura, Presentation by NICT	01
12:10	4. Closing remarks	
12.10	Remarks by Mr. Sweers Benarks by Ambassader Nekana	
	Remarks by Ambassador Nakane	